Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Freedom Flight (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Get On DownSKU fr-4770

blues jazz funk classic from 1972, incl. 'Strawberry letter 23'
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

This is Shuggie Otis' second album released back in 1972. Apparently, he was barely 16 when this came out, but how do you explain that dirt stache? Or the surely drug-enhanced psychedelic sounds? Stylistically, this album lands equally in between the blues and rock of his first album and dreamy west coast sounds of Inspiration Information. There's some absolute gems on here like the funkidified opener "Ice Cold Daydream"; Shuggie's signature song "Strawberry Letter 23" (original version); blues-funk classic "Me And My Woman" (so robust!); and the epic, 12 minute jazz instrumental title track. Special silver vinyl edition via Get On Down, recommended.

  • purple colored vinyl
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1972
  • music label: Get On Down 2022
reviewed by the mgmnt 01/2010


UPC: 664425145717


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed