• Sigur Ros: Agaetis Byrjun - A Good Beginning (20th Anniversary Edition) Vinyl 2LP

Sigur Ros
Agaetis Byrjun - A Good Beginning (20th Anniversary Edition) Vinyl 2LP - PRE-ORDER


↳ platinum anniversary edition of 1999 Icelandic post-rock epic

Pre-Order Notice
this item is scheduled to ship Early July 2019
all pre-orders ship with Lab stickers + notepad
Vinyl 2LP $39.95
Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! more info

Pre-Order Notes + Order Instructions

  • This item is scheduled to ship Early July 2019 (subject to change)
  • If you want to order additional items with a pre-order item, please make separate orders (1 order with pre-order item, 1 order with everything else)
  • If there is a delay, we will contact you directly
  • all pre-orders come with Turntable Lab stickers + notepad

20th anniversary edition of Sigur Ros' seminal Agaetis Byrjun. Their sophomore LP released in 1999 saw the Icelandic 4-piece move further away from the traditional rock influences which defined the sound of Von into something new entirely. The lyrics sung in the made up 'Hopelandic' language and Jónsi Birgisson's bow-strummed guitar playing quickly became a recipe for "epic," lending new meaning to the term and soon becoming their signature which would be deployed to even greater effect on their next album. But while that record depicted a rather bleak, snowy, apocalyptic scenario, there's some joy to be gleaned from Agaetis Byrjun, even some groove. Includes the extraordinary "Sven-g-englar" but "Ný Batterí," "Olsen Olsen" and the title track are also favorites. This edition includes the full original album on black double vinyl housed in special edition jacket with alternate artwork, plus a digital download of the full record as well as a ton of bonus material and a full live concert recording. Recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing (please note: actual pressing color and packaging may differ from mock-up photo)
  • 20th anniversary edition w/ alternate artwork
  • includes digital download for entire album plus 13 demos + rarities and 90 minute 'live at íslenska óperan, 1999'
  • limited edition
  • release date: 07/05/19
  • tracklist: 1. intro 2. svefn-g-englar 3. starálfur 4. flugufrelsarinn 5. ný batterí 6. hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm) 7. viðrar vel til loftárása 8. olsen olsen 9. ágaetis byrjun 10. avalon
  • music label: Krunk 2019
reviewed by Rake Yavick 06/2019

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question


Free Shipping on orders over $99 to the Contiguous US
You have no items in your cart
Free Shipping for orders over $99
shipping to Contiguous US
Edit Cart
Continue Shopping