Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Excelsior (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Warp RecordsSKU lp-14186

experimental auteur Jasper Marsalis stretches out on Warp following 2 cult self-released albums
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $28.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 289 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Based in Los Angeles, Slauson Malone 1 is the musical project and performance piece of artist Jasper Marsalis. Following two, critically acclaimed, prior releases — 2019’s A Quiet Farwell, 2016-2018 (Crater Speak) and 2020’s Vergangenheitsbewältigung (Crater Speak) he returns with EXCELSIOR, his 18 track debut album with Warp Records. Multi-disciplinary artist Jasper Marsalis, known by his stage name Slauson Malone 1, announces his new album, EXCELSIOR, out October 6th as his debut for iconic label Warp Records. Among the gems within this album, the spotlight shines on second single 'New Joy,' a mesmerizing exploration of finding pleasure from submission, complemented by visuals crafted by the talented hand of Parker Corey of By Storm/Injury Reserve fame, and Marsalis himself. The forthcoming album also includes previously-released single 'Voyager,' which was accompanied by a music video directed by Ryosuke Tanzawa that spoke to the period of aimlessness following the release of his critically acclaimed 2019 full-length A Quiet Farwell, 2016-2018 (Crater Speak), before he moved to Los Angeles. The word 'excelsior' embodies perpetual ascent. Slauson Malone 1 envisions it as a metaphorical sword, one that in someone's possession incessantly grows until it cleaves the Earth in a grand finale. That metaphor becomes his lens to explore all facets of masculinity with a newfound clarity, as he interrogates his own lived experiences through songs and movements across the album inspired by everything from Grammy award-winning composer Wendy Carlos, to the similarities between falling out of love and a nuclear half-life. EXCELSIOR takes the form of a collection of personal essays, with vignettes that intertwine and stand-alone, but ultimately serve the purpose of forming Slauson Malone 1's most personal and enthralling musical work to date." - Warp Records

  • 18-track Warp debut featuring collaborations w/ Lila Ramani (Crumb), Nosaj Thing, Nick Hakim, John FM, Rahill, Joanne Robertson, Zsela + more
  • white colored vinyl
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Warp Records 2023
UPC: 5056614704990


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed