Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Souvlaki (Music On Vinyl 180g) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU lp-7811

the definitive shoegaze statement, essential
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sophomore studio album from Reading's Slowdive. Souvlaki was originally recorded in 1992 in the wake of the harsh criticism the band had received for the debut, Just For A Day. Nearly 40 songs were recorded and rerecorded before Creation Records' boss Alan McGee dismissed them. The band would go back to the studio, writing a letter to ambient savant Brian Eno asking him to produce the album. Eno agreed to collaborate, but not produce the album. His presence can be felt throughout the album and the two tracks he contributed to, "Sing" and "Here She Comes," are among some of the best on Souvlaki. And there is so much more to dig in to. The bass driven psychedelic dub of "Souvlaki Space Station," or the swirling "Machine Gun" are good places to start. "When The Sun Hits" is perfectly uplifting, soothing and beautiful. More than 20 years on Souvlaki stands as one of the defining moments of shoegaze and dream pop. Ten tracks in all. Released by Music On Vinyl on 180 gram vinyl.

  • 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 1993 / 2011
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 06/2016

A post shared by @turntablelab on

UPC: 8713748982256


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed