Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Flying Away (Music On Vinyl 180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU lp-11161

samba & bossa nova-infused trip-hop
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

If you're here just for "Underwater Love," get ready to be pleasantly surprised. Originally released in 1997, Flying Away is the first of Smoke City's two albums. The English band consists of Nina Miranda handling vocals, with Mark Brown (programming, turntables, keyboards, percussion) and Chris Franck (guitar, keyboards, percussion, bass) completing the lineup. More on the aforementioned hit… "Underwater Love," after the Michel Gondry-directed Levi's TV spot used it as background music, became a huge hit in 1997, and is the perfect introduction to the trio's sound—one that's rooted in acid jazz and trip-hop with heavy samba & bossa nova influences. But listening to the 11-tracker reveals much more, with tracks like "Numbers" and "Dark Walk" showcasing the group reaching into almost every style of music. Other tracks to check out: "Mr Gorgeous," "Dark Walk," & "Devil Mood."

  • 180g audiophile pressing, green vinyl
  • includes insert
  • limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 1997 / 2020
reviewed by singing in japanese 03/2020
UPC: 8719262012356


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed