Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Soft Selection 84 (Japanese New Wave) Vinyl LP

Glossy MistakesSKU lp-14916

obscure / underground 1983 new wave comp from Japan, 1st time on vinyl in 40+ years
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $32.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 329 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Celebrated new wave compilation from Japan reissued for the first time on Glossy Mistakes. A much-cherished gem from the 1980s underground Japanese music scene returns, as Soft Selection 84 is reissued by Glossy Mistakes for its 40th anniversary. Originally released on DIY label Soft, the compilation sees 13 tracks from nine acts spanning minimal, ambient, zolo and more for a beguiling listen. The result is a charming time capsule of eclectic creativity in which nothing sounds dated. Take La Sellrose Can Can, whose two-party jams predate Kero Kero Bonito's hyperpop by decades. In addition, an impeccable remastering from the original master tapes adds to the 'could have been recorded yesterday' feel of the collection. Soft Selection 84 also includes the eccentric Picky Picnic. One of the few featured artists with recordings beyond the anthology, the trio is an essential act for those curious about Japanese art pop of the era. There is also new wave introspection from Name, whose 'Do We All Need Love' plays out as a sensual nod to John Lennon. In a similar vein is Clä-Sick, the recording name of Goro Some, the compilation's original producer and founder of Soft. The record's rerelease comes with Some's blessing, along with his original artwork and photography. Ultimately, the listener is left tantalized by his selection and its bold excursions into no wave, synth pop, radioplay and bizzaro house. Most of the artists on this release would fade into obscurity, but the transient nature of the potential showcased has helped cement the compilation's reputation over the years. Soft Selection will be released on vinyl LP, with a remastering from the original master tapes." - Glossy Mistakes

  • obscure / underground new wave compilation from Japan
  • black vinyl pressing
  • first time on vinyl in over 40 years
  • remastered from the original analog tapes
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1983
  • music label: Glossy Mistakes 2024
UPC: 8425402803967


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed