Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Rennen Vinyl LP

4ADSKU lp-8279

bluesy indie-pop over sparse beats
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

L.A.-VIA-AUSTRIA-VIA-U.K. SONGWRITER & PRODUCER CHRISTOPHER MICHAEL TAYLOR HAS BEEN REFINING HIS OWN BRAND OF BLUESY INDIE POP FOR OVER A DECADE NOW. Initially operating as Trouble Over Tokyo, Taylor released a string of albums and singles before closing up shop and re-emerging as SOHN in 2012. After a single was quietly released on the Aesop Label, Taylor was snatched up by indie powerhouse 4AD and has been pumping out synth-laden minimal rhythm & blues ever since. Rennen finds Taylor diving further into synthesizer arrangements and minimal rhythms. We can't help but be reminded of James Blake the way his pitch-shifted soulful vocals float over bare sawtooth waves and disorienting beats, right down to the gigantic wall-of-sound crescendos that build and build and suddenly dissipate into total silence. 

  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: 4AD 2017
reviewed by dj winyl destination 01/2017
UPC: 84549128


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed