Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

When I Get Home (Clear Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Columbia / Saint HeronSKU lp-10631

immersive & challenging yet truly satisfying neo-soul via jazz & hip-hop
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

When I Get Home is an expansive, intuitive, and heady statement from singer, songwriter, producer, and actress Solange Knowles. Her records have always appealed to a more sophisticated pop listener, 2008’s Sol-Angel and the Hadley St. Dreams was a love letter to Motown girl groups, and 2012’s True was refreshed 80’s pop plus Williamsburg PBR&B. A Seat At The Table was neatly textured, intensely personal, and her first #1 album - if you haven’t heard it, you’ve made a huge mistake. When I Get Home continues her journey into herself, constructed with intuitive grooves and lyrics repeated like mantras. It makes sense that this LP was inspired by Alice Coltrane, Steve Reich, and Sun Ra. Grounded in crisp jazz, When I Get Home also integrates elements of hip hop, electronic pop, and drum & bass, reflecting the eclecticism of the places it was recorded - New Orleans, Houston, Topanga Canyon and Jamaica. The production is varied as well, featuring co-production turns from the likes of Earl Sweatshirt, Dev Hynes, Metro Boomin, Pharrell, Tyler The Creator, and Panda Bear. “Stay Flo” is gently chiming piano with restrained drums keeping synthesizer bleeps at bay, “Almeda” is drowzy trap beats with hazy synth washes and features a vocal appearance by Playboy Carti. Guests are kept to the minimum, with Sampha appearing on “Time (Is) and The-Dream on “Binz”, leaving ample room for Knowles’ cosmic abstraction. This LP is pressed on clear vinyl.

  • clear colored vinyl
  • printed insert
  • music label: Columbia / Saint Records 2019
reviewed by EQUAL DREAMS 06/2019
UPC: 190759440414


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed