Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Congo Revolution - Revolutionary & Evolutionary Sounds From The Two Congos 1955-62 Vinyl 2LP

Soul Jazz RecordsSKU fr-4206

jazz, latin + African influences converge in 1960s independent Congo
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $33.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 339 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Soul Jazz finally expand their super limited Congo Revolution RSD 45 boxset with a proper 2LP compiling the early sounds of the two Congos - The Democratic Republic of the Congo (formerly Zaire) and the Republic of the Congo, where the two countries converged into a musically rich cohesion of pop culture and politics shortly after declaring independence from their European colonizers (Belgium and France, respectively) in the early 1960s. There’s early work from some of the two countries’ biggest stars, humbly working in these nascent groups to find their own identity among jazz, latin and other African influences (many of the band names read like a list of microgenres: O.K. Jazz, Rock-A-Mambo, African Jazz and so on). Check out “Sois Sage Amour,” “Allegria,” “La Belle Lucie Botayi,” “Cherie Nini” and “Grupo O.K. Jazz.” 21 tracks spread across 4 sides, expertly assembled by Soul Jazz in a heavyweight gatefold jacket with printed inner sleeves containing extensive liner notes, artist bios and stunning photography by Jean Depara.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ printed inner sleeves
  • extensive liner notes, artist bios + photos
  • music label: Soul Jazz Records 2019
reviewed by big kahuna burger 11/2019
UPC: 5026328004372


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed