Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Acid Can You Jack Vol 1 (Free MP3) 2LP

Soul Jazz RecordsSKU dm-4708

comprehensive collection of old school acid house
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Soul Jazz will eventually catalog and compile every genre of music, and you will be able to know everything. Alphabetically, ACID will be the first volume in your collection. Centering on that mid-'80s raw experimental house sound dominated by burping squelches of Roland's TR-series of rhythm machines, there's not, at first glance, a lot of variation in the tones you hear over the course of the two hours of music. This was never meant for thoughtful contemplation in the music library at home, though. These cuts gain their stature when blasted from frankenstein bass cabinets through chemical smoke. There are a handful of classics, including the Phuture essential "Phuture Jacks," Tyree's "Acid Crash," and Mr. Fingers' "Beyond the Clouds" (but no "Can You Feel It"). A few newer cuts are scattered in, but sound as true to the squeak and squirt as their inspirations (Maurice Joshua's "This Is Acid," and Roy Davis's "Acid Bass"). The set is filled out with lesser known but equally essential cuts for the connoisseur from Adonis' "Do You Want to Perculate?" and the legendary Virgo Trax cut, "Go Wild." Includes extensive liner notes by Tim Lawrence!

  • music label: Soul Jazz Records 2013
reviewed by Salvador Smith 10/2005
UPC: 49945895


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed