Soul Jazz Records New York Noise - Dance Music From The New York Underground 1978-1982 Vinyl 2LP

Free Shipping
Vinyl 2LP $29.95 2 left
Pin It



The sounds of NYC’s most exciting musical period. New York Noise documents the fertile late '70s/early 80's era in lower Manhattan (commonly referred to as the No-Wave or Downtown movement) that was the cross section of experimental, post-punk, punk funk, hip hop and art rock scenes. Soul Jazz does an excellent job curating this compilation of tracks that covers that wide spectrum of styles and gives the listener a glimpse of the vibrant scene that once existed in downtown NYC. Includes classic No Wave tracks from the likes of Arthur Russell (Dinosaur L), Alan Vega (Suicide), Konk, Lizzy Mercier Descloux, Bush Tetras, The Contortions, impLOG, The Dance, and many more.  This 2016 reissue features a slightly different tracklist than the original 2003 pressing, but all in all still mandatory listening for anyone interested in this crucial time period in NY music. Treat yourself to this lost slice of nyc life. 16 tracks in all. Full linear notes.

  • double vinyl reissue w/ 7 replaced tracks from original 2003 version
  • music label: Soul Jazz Records 2003 / 2016
reviewed by the mgmnt 02/2016