Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

93 Til Infinity 20th Anniversary CD Boxset

Get On DownSKU cd-3697

deluxe cd reissue of the Souls Of Mischief's debut album
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The good folks at Get On Down have once again gone the extra mile! Just take a look at this boxset and tell me they haven't. If there ever was a defining moment in Oakland's contribution to Golden Era hip hop 93 Til Infinity has got to be it. To celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Souls Of Mischief's debut Get On Down has dropped a special edition 2 CD boxset that includes a CD of tracks from the singles that Jive released at the time in support of the album (8 never before on CD, including exclusive "93 'til Infinity" a capella which has not been previously released in any format). Beyond the extra tracks they've also included a 36 page hardcover book of liner notes comprised of images and group interviews by Eric Arnold (from 2013) and Joseph "Jazzbo" Patel (from 1993). It all comes housed in unique CD casebook that plays the song "93 'til Infinity" when the cover is opened. And just to sweeten the deal even more the Hiero Light Box outer case's iconic third-eye logo glows in radiant neon blue when the hidden button is pushed! Here's what the mgmnt had to say when we first started stocking this landmark release: A daunting task reviewing this record, but here's a try. Not to get all textbook, but 93 Til Infinity is one of finest embodiments of youthful expression. This is the Lebron of hip hop records, a young prize pit bull on a chain link leash. Somehow on this album the producers were able to harness the complete wildness of Souls into 14 coherent hip-hop classics. It's what separates NBA from And 1. Ever hear an early Hiero freestyle? It's one of the baddest things on earth, but freestyles don't make a classic record (just axe Supernat). There was magic in the studio, and it's fitting that the Souls give it up to this magic in the albums title track. "Anything Can Happen" rivals a young Nas in vivid storytelling, but Nas didn't have to coordinate 4 separate voices. That's finesse, and "That's When Ya Lost" is straight fire. Combine "Lost" with "Let Em Know" and "Live and Let Live" and you have one of the most dynamic openings since, hmm... Midnight Marauders? For kicks, throw in equinox apocalypse Del on a track like "Limitations" and see how wild it can get. This review is starting to get sporadically hectic, precisely the opposite of what the Souls did on this one. Recommended.

reviewed by Kool Moby 03/2014
UPC: 25504969


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed