Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Essential (180g) Vinyl 2LP

PIASSKU lp-9765

tracks from Belgian group's BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $33.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 339 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

When Soulwax got tapped for a BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix last year, it set out to deliver an hour of original music, and Essential is now out as an album. As announced on the first track, all 12 tracks are based around the word "essential," and the Belgian dance outfit crafts house & techno w/ bleeps, squelching 303 basslines, and processed vocal snippets. "Essential Three" is a driving number characterized by dissonant synth work, and "Essential Four" boasts tight, stickling drum programming & catchy vocals. "Essential One" is also interesting as the male voice describes the concept behind the album, and the track builds up into a thumping groover w/ distorted synths and hard-hitting drums.

  • includes download code
  • music label: PIAS 2018
reviewed by rei kwondo 07/18
UPC: 41558904


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed