Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Mojo Rocksteady Beat Vinyl 2LP

Soul Jazz RecordsSKU rr-2263a

foundational reggae rhythms laid down by Studio 1 house band
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Rock pon the rock! This double vinyl set collects 17 crucial instrumentals laid down by Studio One house band Sound Dimension between 1967 and 1970, which were later voiced by legendary Studio One vocalists Alton Ellis, Marcia Griffiths, Sugar Minott, The Heptones and more; many of which became standards in roots and dancehall productions for decades to come; endlessly rinsed & re-versioned by the likes of Junjo Lawes, Wackies, King Jammy and many more. Clement “Sir Coxsone” Dodd put together Sound Dimension in 1967 and had them record riddims day in and day out, modeling them after Motown house band The Funk Brothers and Booker T. & The MGs at Stax. The lineup constantly evolved, but always consisted of a who’s who of legendary Jamaican session musicians, including bassist Leroy Sibbles, Leroy “Horsemouth” Wallace on drums and keyboardist Jackie Mittoo, to name a few. The tracks contained herein are fashioned in a strict rocksteady stylie but have since been co-opted and adapted to practically every iteration of Jamaican music, including roots, reggae, digital; right up to modern-day dancehall. This is the foundation of reggae music. You’ll recognize some of the most-rinsed cuts (“Real Rock,” “Rockfort Rock,” “Ironside”), but be sure to check some of our other favorites: “In Cold Blood,” “Heavy Rock,” “Less Problem.” “Great Mu Ga Ru Ga” is so odd and tightly arranged, it almost sounds like an early Jammy’s digi tune, predating “Sleng Teng” by a decade and a half. Gorgeously compiled (as always) by Soul Jazz Records on double vinyl with printed inner sleeves and code for digital download. Recommended.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeves
  • digital download included
  • music label: Soul Jazz Records 2017
reviewed by peanut dust 09/2017
UPC: 84799176


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed