Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Gumba Fire - Bubblegum Soul & Synth-Boogie in 1980s South Africa Vinyl 3LP

SoundwaySKU fr-3790

rare South African boogie, house, mbaqanga + proto-kwaito
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $36.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 369 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Hot!!! Soundway follow up their killer Doin’ It In Lagos comp with three plates of like-minded sounds from further south. These 16 tracks represent the sound of South African dancefloors in the 80s and late 70s, where American strains of jazz, funk, boogie and house infiltrated mbaqanga and kwaito. Some of these inclusions could have easily been classic Prelude or SOLAR joints (Zoom’s “Wayawaya,” Condry Ziqubu’s “She’s Impossible,” The Black Five’s “Selallane,” Starlight’s “Picnicing”), while others proudly wear their local influences on their sleeves (Hot Soul Singers’ “Hlala Nami,” Zasha’s “Hayi Ngodlame” and “Arrow Dub”). In addition to the aforementioned tracks, be sure to check The Survivals’ “My Brother” (bassline inspired by Moroder’s “Knights In White Satin”?) and Stimela’s Minneapolis-tinged “Mind Games.” The whole comp bangs. Triple vinyl edition includes one bonus track not found on the CD version, Joshiba’s infectious “Gloria.” Gatefold sleeve includes collage of original album art and extensive liner notes by Soundway’s Miles Cleret and DJ Okapi of Afrosynth Records. Recommended.

  • black triple vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ extensive liner notes by DJ Okapi + Miles Cleret
  • music label: Soundway 2018
reviewed by hannibal chew 03/2018
UPC: 5060571360007


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed