Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Margerine Eclipse (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 3LP

DuophonicSKU lp-11037

oft-overlooked 2004 full-length from int'l psych pop masters, expanded w/ rarities
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Stereolab return to their pre-Dots and Loops days with an album that reminds me of why I liked them so much to begin with. Rather than a major shift in production, it's the melodies, harmonies and overall feeling of the songs that have me reminiscing. Listen to "Margerine Rock!" and tell me it doesn't sound straight off Mars Audiac Quintet. "Margerine Melody" on the other hand is probably the only track on ME that really stretches their sound. I could see the 120ish beat fitting into a house mix nicely. Also check "Cosmic Country Noir" for some groundbreaking drum machine work. Listen to "...sudden stars" to get a full picture of just how sweet Laetitia's vocals get, even though Mary (RIP) is very much missed. The most interesting aspect of this album is an absurd production coup in which they recorded all the songs twice with different instruments and arrangements. One version plays on the left channel and the other on the right. This is a pretty amazing accomplishment, and the mix is absolutely seamless. Hardcore fans of Stereolab probably didn't even bother reading this review, but the rest of you should give it a try. Margarine Eclipse is packed with the kind of sound that made them famous in the first place. This expanded 3LP edition looks and sounds fantastic; the bonus LP includes all the tracks from the Rose, My Rocket-Brain! 7-inch and a selection of tracks from the Instant 0 In The Universe EP (previously only available on CD or an incredibly cumbersome 3x 7-inch boxset!), which will certainly contain some unknown treasures if you overlooked this underrated segment of Stereolab's ouvre. Includes giant foldout poster of the sleeve art with extensive liner notes from Tim Gane on the back and code for digital download. Recommended!

  • clear triple vinyl pressing
  • bonus 3rd LP features rare EP tracks
  • remastered sound
  • bespoke gatefold sleeve and pvc outer wallet
  • includes 24x24 poster of album artwork with liner notes on rear
  • digital download included
  • music label: Duophonic 2019
reviewed by jms 05/2005
UPC: 5060384617114


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed