Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Different Trains / Electric Counterpoint (Kronos Quartet, Pat Metheny) Vinyl LP

Nonesuch RecordsSKU lp-10223

first vinyl re-release of minimalist classic
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

THE SKIES ALWAYS HAD LITTLE FLUFFY CLOUDS. Originally released in 1989 on Nonesuch Records , Steve Reich's Different Trains went on to win a Grammy for Best Contemporary Composition the year it was released. For the first time in more than twenty-five years the album Different Trains / Electric Counterpoint is being re-released on vinyl, with mastering done by Robert C. Ludwig. On Different Trains , Reich combines the Kronos Quartet with taped speech, evoking his childhood memories during World War II. On Electric Counterpoint , written for Pat Metheny and divided into 'Slow', 'Medium' and 'Fast', the guitarist performs against multiple pre-recorded tapes of himself, creating a jazz / funk rhythm that was famously sampled by The Orb for their ambient house masterpiece Little Fluffy Clouds . Released by Nonesuch and housed in a full color sleeve with a printed insert containing detailed liner notes for each track written by Reich.

  • printed insert
  • music label: Nonesuch 2018
reviewed by RBG 11/2018
UPC: 34905456


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed