Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Music for 18 Musicians Vinyl 2LP

NonesuchSKU lp-9907

classic minimalist composition reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Timeless modern classical masterpiece. Though originally debuted in 1976, this 1998 recording was released on CD and earned a Grammy Award for Best Small Ensemble Performance and has now been mastered for vinyl by Robert C. Ludwig. Reich based the piece on a cycle of eleven chords, composing small pieces of music based on each chord. The pieces are named Pulses and an unplugged vibraphone is used the cue the ensemble to move to the next Pulse. It was Reich's first attempt to write for a large ensemble and the additional players resulted in more psycho-acoustic effects than Reich's earlier work. David Bowie included the record in his list of 25 favorite albums, calling it "Balinese gamelan music cross-dressing as minimalism." Released by Nonesuch on double vinyl housed in a full color sleeve with a printed insert containing detailed liner notes from K. Robert Schwarz.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • printed insert
  • music label: Nonesuch 2018
reviewed by Berk Lee 08/2018



UPC: 075597958157


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed