Skip to content
  1. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Everyday! details

The Stone Roses (180g) Vinyl 2LP

Modern Classics RecordingsSKU lp-7340

deluxe reissue of the Manchester band's debut
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Classic, influential self-titled debut by Mancunian neo-psych luminaries The Stone Roses. The Roses were lumped in with (or credited with creating) the “Madchester” sound after their Funky Drummer-sampling single “Fool’s Gold” became a club smash, but their self-titled debut album took a more straightforward 60’s jangle-pop approach. Their highly-danceable rhythm section didn’t do much to avert this association, nor did their hippie tendencies, live shows at The Haçienda, or overall look (bucket hats, head to toe sportswear). Tracks like “I Wanna Be Adored,” “Waterfall,” “Made Of Stone” and “I Am The Resurrection” made perfect 7AM sing-along fodder for an entire generation cruising the M1 after a night of raving in a field. The Stone Roses is often considered a progenitor for the 90’s Britpop sound, with the band’s embrace of traditional British rock arrangement and instrumentation, catchy melodies, homegrown humor and Ian Brown’s unabashedly arrogant and narcissistic lyrics predating Modern Life Is Rubbish and Definitely Maybe by 4 whole years. The Stone Roses is classic, sure, but unlike many classics… it’s timeless, with influence reverberating throughout the culture to this day (t-shirts emblazoned with the album cover are ubiquitous in the UK), and anthemic (Manchester United play “This Is The One” for their walk-on music). This definitive pressing of the album is remastered from the original tapes and cut on heavyweight 180g double vinyl, housed in deluxe gatefold sleeve with obi strip; this is the one. Recommended.

  • 180g black double vinyl pressing
  • remastered from the original tapes
  • deluxe gatefold sleeve with obi strip
  • music label: Modern Classics Recordings 2015
reviewed by peanut dust 06/2017


A post shared by @turntablelab on


UPC: 67941124


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed