Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Michigan Vinyl 2LP

Asthmatic Kitty RecordsSKU lp-6871

3rd album of indie folk rock from 2003
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $31.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 319 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sufjan's third album from 2003. Michigan is the first of a proposed series of conceptual albums from the indie folk singer, based on the 50 states of the United States. Every song on the album references Michigan in some way or another; whether it's places, people, or important events - they're all linked to the Great Lake state. As with previous efforts, Stevens handled all the writing and composition here. Interestingly though, he recorded the album in an intentionally lo-fi and super budget way, using cheap gear and a low sampling rate which gives a purposefully lackluster gloss over the lush instrumentation and complex arrangements. 20 tracks with digital download and gatefold sleeve.

  • double LP repress
  • gatefold sleeve
  • digital download included
  • music label: Asthmatic Kitty Records 2003 / 2015
reviewed by Bo Linas 06/2015
UPC: 656605551012


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed