• Suicide: Suicide (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP
  • Suicide: Suicide (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP
  • Suicide: Suicide (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Suicide (Red Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Mute Records

↳ influential 1977 debut from NYC proto-punk duo, remastered

Vinyl LP $24.95 Stock Email
Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! more info

Official reissue of Suicide's seminal 1977 debut. By the time this pioneering self-titled album was released, Alan Vega (RIP) and Martin Rev had already been performing around the Lower East Side art scene for about seven years. In that time Vega, an artist turned vocalist, and Rev, who played primitive drum machines and electronic instruments, developed a raw and confrontational sound unlike anything heard before. The duo was truly ahead of their time, not only being the first to use the term "punk" to describe their sound, but ultimately paving the way for punk, industrial, hip-hop, noise, and more. These seven tracks embody their raw, don't give a f*** style, and still sound stunning to this day. Every song here is a classic including "Ghost Rider," "Rocket USA," "Cheree," "Girl," and Bruce Springsteen's favorite song of all time, the terrifyingly real "Frankie Teardrop." This 2019 Art Of The Album edition on red colored wax features remastered sound, presented in repro packaging inspired by the original Red Star release, photos and extensive liner notes covering the context, craft, impact and legacy of the album. Recommended.

  • red colored vinyl
  • remastered sound
  • deluxe packaging w/ extensive liner notes
  • limited edition
  • music label: Mute Records 2019
reviewed by sewer rat 08/2016



Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question
Free Shipping on orders over $99 to the Contiguous US
You have no items in your cart
Free Shipping for orders over $99
shipping to Contiguous US
Edit Cart
Continue Shopping