Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Horizon Vinyl LP

StrutSKU fr-4360

1971 private press rarity recorded in Cairo
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"In the years leading up to 1971, Sun Ra wrote many compositions and poems specifically inspired by the ancient African Kingdoms and many others with associated mythological and heliocentric connotations. As such, a visit to Egypt and the opportunity for the Arkestra to play there was a matter of necessity. Ra’s first ever concerts outside of the US had occurred in late summer and autumn of 1970 with performances in France, Germany and the UK and a second European tour was arranged for late 1971. At the end of that second tour, Ra caught wind of cheap flights from Denmark to Cairo. This release comprises recordings made by Arkestra member Thomas 'Bugs' Hunter in December 1971 at a concert at the Ballon Theatre in Cairo. Ra subsequently edited three LPs of the ‘Live In Egypt’ series for release on his Saturn record label: Dark Myth Equation Visitation, Nidhamu and Horizon. Reissued for the first time individually with original artwork and all tracks are remastered from the original tapes." - Strut

  • black vinyl pressing
  • 1 of 3 live LPs recorded by Sun Ra during his 1st trip to Egypt in December 1971
  • originally released in a private pressing on Sun Ra's El Saturn Records imprint
  • first time on vinyl since 1989
  • remastered from the original tapes
  • music label: Strut 2020
UPC: 4.06255E+12


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed