Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Lanquidity Vinyl 4LP Boxset

StrutSKU fr-4575

one of the most straightforward, listenable and best albums from the Arkestra, definitive edition
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $67.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 679 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Strut present the definitive edition of Sun Ra's masterful Lanquidity album, with 2 coveted versions of the record completely remastered and individually packaged with repro artwork, new liner notes from members of the Arkestra and deluxe box enclosure. OG Lab review:

One of the finest of Sun Ra's late period albums, 1978's Lanquidity is also one of Sun Ra's most traditionally "listenable" efforts, due in large part to its more straight-ahead (for Sun Ra, at least) rhythmic arrangements and melodic lyricism. Imagine a quiet storm free jazz album and you'll get some idea of the general tone of this record. Ra eschews the overtly atonal dissonance of much of his other music, and his keyboard work here subtly employs an array of electric piano and analog Moog and Arp synthesizers, instruments which were the backbone of much of the jazz fusion of the period. The slow, elegant title track features great horn work from the Arkestra, which at this time included the great trumpeter Eddie Gale and tenor sax player John Gilmore – their moody, smoldering interplay over a slow groove floats over Ra's nuanced keyboard work, which continually shifts the harmonic tone of the track in unexpected and subtly beautiful ways. "Where Pathways Meet" is a chunky, loping big-band Arkestra groover featuring nice guitar work (an instrument rarely highlighted in Ra's ouvre), and "That's How I Feel" is an ethereal stunner that could easily pass for a lost acid jazz stormer. Ra shades the track's elastic bassline groove with warm, oblique Fender Rhodes accents; and this is Sun Ra at his prettiest. "Twin Stars Of Thence" is also a standout, and the amazing "There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of)" featuring the always incredible vocalist June Tyson and her whispered vocal interplay with Ra, is an epic, lethargic groove. A great "gateway" record for those new to Sun Ra and an essential record for those who already know of his genius. 

  • definitive edition of Sun Ra's 1978 cosmic jazz masterpiece
  • black 4xLP vinyl pressing
  • contains both the original 1978 Philly Jazz commercial issue and private press alternate mix by Bob Blank, each individually packaged in full original artwork
  • remastered sound, cut at 45RPM
  • includes 12" booklet w/ new liner notes by producer Bob Blank + Arkestra members Michael Ray + Danny Ray Thompson
  • housed in hard outer box w/ reflective mirrorboard coating
  • limited edition
  • music label: Strut / Philly Jazz 2021
reviewed by Language 05/2005
UPC: 4062548021066


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed