Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Life Metal (Gold Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Southern LordSKU lp-10769

ear-shattering back-to-basics Albini-produced drone metal
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sunn O))) is an undeniably influential experimental / drone metal band founded in Seattle in 1998. The duo of Shephen O’Malley and Greg Anderson is known for their deft manipulation of pure volume and harsh dissonance, in addition to collaborations with artists as diverse as Boris, Scott Walker, Ulver, and Julian Cope. Life Metal sees them add Steve Albini to that list, his studied yet rugged production returning the band to their roots of spine-tinglingly deep, dark riffs. The album was conceived of in Anderson’s LA studio, where synth innovator Tos Nieuwenhuizen contributed to songwriting and rehearsals. They then moved to Electrical Audio in Chicago, tracking this record and the to-be-released Pyroclasts. Life Metal features composer and frequent live collaborator Hildur Guðnadóttir on vocals and electric cello, Anthony Pateras on pipe organ, and Silkworm’s Tim Midyett on aluminum neck bass and baritone guitars. “Between Sleipnir’s Breaths” starts with a horse whinny swallowed immediately by dominant, vibrating guitar tones that seem to fill the entire frequency range, nearly swallowing up hesitantly sung verses cribbed from ancient Aztec poets. “Troubled Air” adds organ to dissonant guitar textures that seem to increase in volume as the the track plays out. “Novae” is nearly 30 minute closer, a colossus of overdriven cello hum and fitting denouement to an album that is turbulent in its stillness. The vinyl version of this album was recorded, mixed, and pressed in a completely analogue signal chain. The LP is packaged in a heavyweight tip-on style high-gloss gatefold sleeve with an obi strip.

  • double translucent gold colored vinyl pressing
  • high-gloss tip-on style gatefold jacket with obi strip
  • limited edition of 1500 copies
  • music label: Southern Lord 2019
reviewed by STEWART YOUNG 09/2019
UPC: 808720300215


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed