Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Soundtracks For The Blind Vinyl 4LP

Young God RecordsSKU lp-12939

Michael Gira's painstakingly-crafted 1996 magnum opus
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 499 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Soundtracks For The Blind is the 10th studio album from Swans.Released in 1996, it is the last project from Michael Gira & co. before the group's 1997 dissolution (it reformed in 2010, check To Be Kind). Recorded between 1981 and 1996 (Gira: "This album has everything in there - all the ideas from Swans' initial 15 years of work"), the gist of the expansive project is formed by collected sounds & recordings of Gira and Jarboe (the only constant member other than Gira up until 1997). The Swans leader sifted through a huge amount of material, consisting of everything from moldy cassettes and discs full of samples to FBI surveillance tapes and interview clips of Gira's father, which, he reassembles, loops, mangles, and overdubs to draw out the experimental, multi-layered electronic sketches. Gira compares the arduous creation process to "climbing up a mountain of sand," but the painstaking work paid off, as more than 20 years after, Soundtracks For The Blind stands as complex, inaccessible (in a good way), and inventive as ever. The LP is perhaps not the best introduction to Swans as it is essentially Gira's solo work but nevertheless considered the band's magnum opus. Check out "All Line Up," "Volcano," "Yum-Yab Killers," "Red Velvet Corridor," "Helpless Child," "Blood Section" and "I Was a Prisoner In Your Skull."

  • black 4xLP vinyl pressing
  • housed in deluxe gatefold sleeve
  • includes full color printed insert + large foldout poster
  • remastered audio
  • includes digital download for full original album plus German language companion album 'Die Tur Ist Zu'
  • original release year: 1996
  • music label: Young God Records 2022
reviewed by rei kwondo 09/18
UPC: 5400863046095


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed