Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Cashmere (Das Racist) Vinyl LP

Customs MusicSKU hh-4244

Indo-Pak rap duo's debut, politically charged w/ a twist of humor
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Always get a random check when I rock the stubble," annoyedly expresses Himanshu Suri aka Heems (yes, formerly of Das Racist) on "T5," the single from the Queens native's collaborative debut with London's Riz MC (yes, from HBO's The Night Of). Collectively known as Swet Shop Boys, Redinho rounds out the group as its sole producer, and foresaid track/verse is a handy clue as to what Cashmere is as a whole: first-person accounts of unique experiences shared by U.S. and U.K. residents of South Asian descent, rapped over sparse, slapping instrumentals influenced by "Qawwali hand claps, hype harmonium, Bollywood string drama, spiralling sitars, Western synths, and an arsenal of drums - from 808s to tablas and tars, dhloaks and doumbeks." In addition to TSA mishaps, the Boys offer sharp commentary on social justice: "The NYPD ain't nothing but Nazis," "I know they're tapping up my camera phone / I hear weird noises when mans at home." Despite the heavy, serious subjects they tackle, the dudes never lose their sense of humor, and that makes for music w/ a message that can also soundtrack a party. Check out "Shottin," "tiger Hologram," "Zayn Malik," "Swish Swish," and "Shoes Off."

  • digital download included
  • music label: Customs Music 2016
reviewed by fresh noods 11/2016
UPC: 48825160


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed