Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials
  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Switched ON is a series of video game soundtracks performed on vintage analog synthesizers and drum machines. The title of the series is in reference to Switched on Bach by American composer Wendy Carlos, which played a key role in integrating synthesizers into popular music and began a tradition of electronic reinterpretations of music past, present, and future. A Link To The Past is the third game in the Legend of Zelda series, and the first installment for the Super Nintendo. Widely considered to be one of the best video games ever made, The popularity of the series led to the unprecedented step of doubling the storage space available on the game’s cartridge, allowing for a higher level of detail in the music and graphics. The music was composed and arranged by Nintendo veteran Koji Kondo, who took advantage of the upgraded SNES hardware to create more lush and detailed versions of the iconic music cues of the NES original in addition to many new compositions that reappear in Zelda sequels to this day. Switched ON: A Link To The Past is a tribute album that upgrades the sonic quality of these 16 bit compositions from tinny FM synthesis to tasteful analog sequences, and is cut at 45RPM but very compelling to listen to at 33. The tracks are expanded from the original digital release, and the LP version includes the exclusive track “Zelda Rescue”. This album is pressed on limited edition “Red Rupee” vinyl and includes a printed insert.

  • 'red rupee' colored vinyl pressing
  • features extended versions of tracks from the previous digital release
  • includes printed insert
  • limited edition
  • music label: Subtropic Records 2019
reviewed by ONLY A LAD 06/2019
UPC: 826853968614


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed