Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Catch-Wave Vinyl LP

Superior ViaductSKU lp-10200

"the deaf listen to sounds touching, watching, the blind watch sight listening, smelling.."
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

First-time official vinyl reissue of deep Japanese ambient debut. Takehisa Kosugi was a composer, multi-instrumentalist and mixed-media artist who was at the vanguard of Japanese avant-garde for decades. Founder of Japan's first improvisational music collective Group Ongaku in 1958 as well as the legendary Taj Mahal Travellers - an experimental Japanese collective that created spontaneously improvised drones - in 1969, Takehisa released his debut solo album Catch-Wave in 1975. Side-A's "Mano-Dharma '74" features improvised violin drones and voice combined with various oscillators, echo delays, an electric fan (say wha?) and layered tape experiments, while side-B's "Wave Code #E-1" is a three-part performance for a solo vocalist. The included (translated) liner notes are essential to understanding the meticulous process behind these performances, which on the rear cover are described as "Sounds speeding on lights, light speeding on sounds music between riddles & solutions." Also comes with a glossy 8.5" x 10" photo of Takehisa at the Mano Dharma concert in '74. Originals go for triple digits on the second hand market, so don't sleep on this killer reissue. Released by Superior Viaduct.

  • includes glossy 8.5" x 10" press photo
  • housed in a stoughton tip-on sleeve
  • inner sleeve features translated liner notes
  • music label: Superior Viaduct 2018
reviewed by RBG 12/2018
UPC: 855985006581


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed