Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Let's Take A Trip Vinyl 2LP

First Word RecordsSKU dm-5639

intoxicating beats from the Detroit native
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$17.95 Original Price$25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sophomore studio album from Detroit's Tall Black Guy. I must admit that I've had my misgivings about Tall Black Guy (nee Terrel Wallace). Perhaps it was all of the edit and rework 45s, but there was something that made me pass over most of his catalog and not pay much attention. However, now that I'm fully immersed in Let's Take A Trip, his second full length offering, he's won me over. His original productions are enough to make an beat head crack a smile and nod along. There's an innate sense of swing and knack for subtle melodies that he seems have a wealth of. It's no wonder that his unique style has won him fans across the globe including Gilles Peterson, Lefto, Jazzy Jeff and House Shoes. Contributions from Kenny Keys, Miles Bonny, Diggs Duke and Dee Jackson feature on the project as well as regular collaborators Ozay Moore and Mario Sweet help fill out Wallace's already funky and soulful sound. Thirteen tracks in all. Released by First Word Records on double vinyl.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • music label: First Word Records 2016
reviewed by Kool Moby 12/2016
UPC: 69987720


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed