Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Night Illusion Vinyl LP

Soul JazzSKU fr-3518

Nigerian afro boogie soul grail reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$21.95 Original Price$29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Soul Jazz goes DEEP. The distinguished UK label has dug up yet another tasty soul nugget, this from Nigeria's disco boogie scene. Originally released in 1980, Tee Mac's Night Illusion is one of the foreign private press joints that even the most knowledgable diggers might not be aware of. Produced in tiny numbers on the enigmatic artists' own S.K.J. imprint, the record is still unknown outside its native country. Thankfully Soul Jazz comes to the rescue (again!) and gives this lost masterpiece a long overdue reissue. From Soul Jazz: "The timelessness of this soulful, ground-breaking funk jazz lost masterpiece Night Illusion leads to comparisons with James Mason’s legendary lost classic album Rhythm of Life, with his unique individualism and intensity hinting at the boogie funk of groups such as Mass Production and Slave so loved by artists such as Moodyman and Theo Parrish. While Fela Kuti is now a cultural icon of Nigerian music throughout the world, the recent crossover success of William Onyeabor shows just how much undiscovered Nigerian music remains waiting to be explored outside of the country. Tee Mac was born in Lagos, the son of a Nigerian princess and a Swiss diplomat. He picked up the flute at age 7 and ten years later was studying classical musical in Switzerland under his uncle the composer J.J. Direndirger. Returning to Lagos, Nigeria in 1970 he formed the heavyweight afro rock group Tee Mac and Afro Collection (which included Johnny Haastrup on keyboards and The Lijadu Sisters on vocals). This band was famously joined by the legendary Cream drummer Ginger Baker who came to Nigeria to play with them in 1971 (captured in the film Ginger Baker in Africa). At age 24, Tee Mac moved to Germany where he co-wrote and recorded the European disco group Silver Convention (whose ‘Fly Robin Fly’ became number one in the USA charts). This enabled him to return to Nigeria where he formed his own label SKJ Records to release his self-financed album Night Illusion..." The sounds here speak for themselves and capture the essence of disco soul with a Nigerian boogie twist. 7 tracks featuring the exquisite voice of Marjorie Barnes. Limited to 1000 copies with exact repro cover and digital download included. 

  • limited edition of 1000
  • exact-replica artwork
  • liner notes
  • digital download included
  • music label: Soul Jazz Records 2016
reviewed by miller 10/2016
UPC: 26784712


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed