The Black Keys El Camino (w/ Poster) Vinyl 2LP+CD

Free Shipping
Vinyl 2LP sale $19.95 $26.95
Pin It



The Black Keys' seventh studio album, El Camino, sees the band testing out more uptempo tracks. The smoky, blues-tinged rock steez - the duo's signature sound - is still at the heart of the album, but Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney add soul, rockabiilly, surf and glam rock touches while citing the likes of The Clash, T.Rex and The Cramps as influences. It's also important to note that Danger Mouse is the co-producer and co-writer for all the tracks on El Camino, and many credit him with "tightening up" the Black Keys and making the songs more fun. "Lonely Boy," is the lead single, a riff-heavy, movement-inducing number driven by booming bass and groovy drums. "Dead And Gone" is equally addictive, and "Gold on the Ceiling" follows with more energy and prowess. Other picks include "Little Black Submarines," "Run Right Back," "Mind Erase," and "Hell of a Season." Simply put, for anyone into retro-cool, fun rock, this album is a must. Recommended.

  • includes CD version + fold-out poster
  • music label: Nonesuch 2012
reviewed by nakinboots 01/2012