Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Three Imaginary Boys (180g) Vinyl LP

Fiction RecordsSKU lp-7988

remastered reissue of Robert Smith & Co's 1979 debut
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

180g vinyl reissue of The Cure's debut album. It is hard to believe The Cure formed in the mid 70s when their commercial peak and introduction for many was arguably the mid to late 80s. Coming into the music world at a time when Bowie and Roxy Music reigned supreme (for the music nerds) and Punk had basically been born that summer the boys sounded fresh and didn't quite fit with the times. Fast forward to 1979 and the band releases their debut. Not too abrasive, not quite goth yet, nowhere near as epic as their later output, but still clearly onto something and catchy as hell. Three Imaginary Boys was released by the label with very little input from the band subsequently upsetting Robert Smith and company as they weren't impressed with the song choices as well as the artwork. The album was to be released in the US at a later time with a different title, Boys Don't Cry, and different track list adding and subtracting songs. This is the original UK version as the label released the album with the weird cover of Jimi Hendrix's Foxy Lady, their incredible number 'Fire In Cairo' and of course the deadly opener '10:15 Saturday Night'. This 2016 reissue comes on 180g heavyweight vinyl and features remastered sound by Robert Smith.

  • 180 gram pressing of The Cure's 1979 debut album
  • remastered sound by Robert Smith
  • music label: Fiction Records 2016
reviewed by Meme Gene Okerlund 3/2015
    UPC: 081227981594


    Review & Q+A


    Labheads Also Viewed