Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Abysmal Thoughts (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Anti-SKU lp-8749

stripped-down 4th effort from evolving BK indie pop project
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Fourth studio album from The Drums following 2014's Encyclopedia. Abysmal Thoughts is the first Drums record written solely by Jonathan Pierce (co-founder Jacob Graham left the band as a full-time member, but contributes synth and guitar to the album), and the result is a decidedly more stripped-down effort. If Encyclopedia sounded like The Drums on a world tour, Abysmal Thoughts is a Bushwick house show. Pierce’s voice sounds like a synthesis of Morrissey and Nico, or perhaps a more sarcastic version of Wild Nothing’s Jack Tatum. His bleak lyrics about modern-day life in gentrified north Brooklyn (“rich kids, you make me sick kids, a bunch of dickheads”) are draped over a bed of expertly-produced pop that exists squarely in indie tock territory while tastefully incorporating synth basslines and subtle drum machine rhythms here and there. This heavyweight 180g clear vinyl pressing is housed in a gatefold sleeve and comes with code for free digital download.

  • indie-exclusive clear vinyl edition
  • (180g double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • poly-lined inner sleeves
  • digital download included
  • music label: Anti- 2017
reviewed by mayor of hounslow 06/2017
UPC: 30518472


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed