Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Release Of An Oath (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Real Gone MusicSKU lp-11323

coveted 1968 opus from David Axelrod's psych / fusion ensemble
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Starting with their 1967 self-titled release featuring 'I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night),' The Electric Prunes made 4 fantastic albums for the Reprise label in the space of 2 years, but by the time they made Release Of An Oath, the last of the four, not a single member of the original band was left. But two key individuals were still in the fold: engineer Dave Hassinger, who retained the rights to the Electric Prunes name and served as producer of the album, and legendary composer and arranger David Axelrod. Axelrod had already written and arranged the Prunes album Mass In F Minor, the complexity of which had forced the band’s original members to quit in frustration. Now, having composed a psychedelic Catholic mass, Axelrod turned his attention to the Old Testament and specifically “The Kol Nidre,” the prayer that begins the Yom Kippur service in the Jewish faith. Once again, the orchestration proved too much for the then-current edition of the band (except for vocalist Dick Whetstone), so Axelrod brought in The Wrecking Crew in the persons of guitarists Howard Roberts and Lou Morrell, bassist Carol Kaye, keyboardist Don Randi, and drummer Earl Palmer. Armed with that formidable line-up, Axelrod brought his trademark blend of psychedelic rock, jazzy orchestration and avant-garde touches to full fruition, creating an album that sounds fresh and cutting-edge over 50 years later." - Real Gone Music

  • coveted third LP from David Axelrod's psych / fusion ensemble, released in 1968
  • maroon + white marble colored vinyl
  • heavily sampled by MF DOOM, Quasimoto, The Beatnuts, Raekwon + more
  • out of print for over 50 years
  • limited edition of 1000
  • music label: Real Gone Music 2020
UPC: 848064010425


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed