Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Family (Prince, Paisley Park) Vinyl LP

Paisley ParkSKU lp-7782

short-lived side project from the Purple One
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $12.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 129 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Dead stock find! The Family is the only album from the Prince side project of the same name. The short-lived group was formed out of the ashes of The Time after both Morris Day and guitarist Jesse Johnson left to pursue solo careers. The remaining members were joined by Susannah Melvoin and Eric Leeds, and were one of the first band to sign to Prince's newly formed Paisley Park imprint. The majority of the band's material was composed and performed by Prince with Paul Peterson's and Melvoin's vocals being overdubbed. Leeds would add saxophone and flute to the recordings, as well. The Family marked the beginning of Prince's long-term collaboration with Leeds and was his first collaboration with composer and arranger Clare Fischer. The album allowed him to try on many different musical concepts, from unconventional soul ballads like "Nothing Compares 2 U" and "Desire," to the jazz fusion instrumentals "Yes" and "Susannah's Pajamas." Eight tracks in all. Released by Prince's Paisley Park housed in a gatefold sleeve.

  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Paisley Park 1985
reviewed by Ask Scott 05/2016
UPC: 74121092


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed