Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (Pic Disc) Vinyl LP

Warner BrosSKU lp-9028

ltd pic disc pressing of space rock modern classic
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The test begins…. now! Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots was a huge leap for The Flaming Lips, initially known for slacker rock singalongs like “She Don’t Use Jelly” before moving into grandiose, over-budget, high-concept self-flagellation (Zaireeka), eventually hitting their stride on the acclaimed and atmospheric Soft Bulletin. The Lips delve deeper into this experimental zone on Yoshimi, with the studio as their main instrument, basically just throwing shit against the wall and seeing what sticks. The result is a multi-faceted record that was easily a decade before its time, lacing their trademark psych arrangements with elements of ambient (“Sympathy 3000-21”), blunted hip-hop (“Yoshimi” part 1 & 2), dreampop (“In The Morning Of The Magicians”), krautrock (“All We Have Is Now,” “Approaching Pavonis Moons”) and downtempo (“Are You A Hypnotist?”, “Ego Tripping At The Gates Of Hell,” “One More Robot”). On what is described as a very loose concept album, Lips mastermind Wayne Coyne manages to touch on some very legit and relatable topics, musing philosophically on adulthood and mortality with lines like “I don't know how a man decides what is right for his own life, it's all a mystery” and “do you realize that everyone you know someday will die,” all under the veil of the ridiculous spectacle that loosely connects the tracks: a tiny Japanese woman facing off against giant pink robots. Alongside Kid A, Yoshimi stands as one of the most progressive and inventive “rock” records of the 00s, fleshed out with synthesizers, sampling, Moog basslines (long before it was de riguer) and spacey atmosphere, which is brought back to earth by Coyne’s raspy Oklahama warbling. Limited edition picture disc vinyl pressing. Recommended!

  • picture disc vinyl pressing
  • housed in clear PVC sleeve with info sticker
  • part of Warner Bros' 2017 Picture This reissue series
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 2002
  • music label: Warner Bros 2017
reviewed by mayor of hounslow 10/2017
UPC: 093624912033


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed