Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Sons (Indie Exclusive) Vinyl LP+7"

BMGSKU lp-10581

contemporary funk with a retro edge from the UK
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$16.95 Original Price$25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 169 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The Heavy are best known for “How You Like Me Now”, a rugged indie funk tune that found its way into endless film trailers, movie sequels, and car commercials. The UK group’s sound is a faithful recreation of Maggot Brain-era Parliament mixed with the attitude of early 90’s Beastie Boys, topped with a solid James Brown impersonation on behalf of singer Kelvin Swaby. Lead track “Heavy For You” begins with a swath of guitar hammer-ons and “We Will Rock You” drum riffs, “Better As One” is an effortless rocker with urgent gang vocals shouting a positive global message among vibrant brass. “Simple Things” has a squelching, sequenced bass line that makes room for plain-spoken, affirmative vocals. “What Don’t Kill You” is a relative slow jam that sneaks in a fuzzed-out interpolation of the guitar line from Blondie’s "Atomic", “Burn Bright” is an uplifting stomper with a fierce choir. This indie exclusive edition comes with a bonus 7" featuring exclusive track "Everything I Got". This LP is pressed on heavyweight black vinyl and comes with a printed inner sleeve. 

  • comes with bonus 7"
  • indie exclusive heavyweight black vinyl pressing
  • limited edition
  • music label: BMG 2019
reviewed by FA-78-2 06/2019
UPC: 4050538478754


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed