Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Silent Shout Vinyl 2LP

MuteSKU lp-12850

sibling's 2014 dark electronic pop masterpiece
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

If you somehow managed to miss the fervor over this LP from Swedish duo The Knife when it was released back in 2006, take a minute to get familiar. Most people, from hipsters to frat guys, know the group's song "Heartbeats," but don't expect to hear anything like that Silent Shout. Instead, dark synth pop and techno is on the menu du jour. Karin Dreijer Andersson's super creepy vocals dominate the record, and it's important to note that she's the only vocalist on the album aside from an appearance by Jay-Jay Johanson on "Marble House." Her brother Olaf (aka Oni Ayhun) handles the arrangements, but Karin provides all of the vocal sounds with the aid of filters, pitch shifters, and vocoders. Check the title track for a particularly great example of how her vocals are able to provide some really eerie tones. "We Share Our Mother's Health," is probably the most floor-ready single from the record, but the rest of it is pretty dark and sparse, ideal for headphones and home stereos. Check out "Neverland," "The Captain," "Na Na Na," "Marble House," and "Like A Pen," for more standouts. Solid album from top to bottom, considered by many to be a modern classic. Recommended.

  • acclaimed 2006 album from Swedish electronic duo
  • black double vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeves
  • music label: Mute 2021
reviewed by Hires 08/2010
UPC: 724596932612


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed