Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

How I Got Over (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Def JamSKU hh-5488

poignant 2010 offering from veteran Philly crew
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$26.95 Original Price$29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

How I Got Over is the much anticipated 9th studio album from the Roots (their 3rd for Def Jam if you're keeping score). The album finds the Grammy-winning Philly hip-hop band (which is now the in-house band for Jimmy Fallon) in top form with a sound that has firm roots (no pun intended) in their past without being afraid to evolve and keep things fresh. Tracks like "Dear God 2.0" and "Right On" show a new side to the Roots - sampling big indie rock tunes to expand the scope of their sound, while "The Fire" (with John Legend) and "Doin' It Again" use the tried and true hip-hop + soul formula they've come to master over the years. As a whole, the album has a great flow to it that will please old and new fans alike, featuring some of their best material in years with other highlights including "Radio Daze" with Blu, "Now Or Never" with Phonte & Dice Raw, "How I Got Over" and "Tunnel Vision." In the band's own words, the album is "depicting the everyman's search for hope in this dispiriting post-hope zeitgeist." Considering the contemplative mood and feeling of struggle throughout the album, I'll buy that. 14 tracks total, recommended.

  • blue colored vinyl
  • includes printed insert
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 2010
  • music label: Def Jam 2022
reviewed by snackmaster 07/2010
UPC: 602567952190


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed