Skip to content
🔴 EXTRA 20% off Clearance Vinyl, use code EXTRA20 shop now
🔴 EXTRA 20% off Clearance Vinyl, use code EXTRA20 shop now
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Things Fall Apart (Music On Vinyl 180g) Vinyl 2LP

Music On VinylSKU hh-5429

1999 masterpiece ft. 'You Got Me,' 'The Next Movement,' 'Dynamite'
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $42.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 429 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Hands down, Things Fall Apart is the finest album The Roots have put together. It's not nearly as ambitious as Phrenology, or as electric as the first time you heard Doyouwantmore?, but cut for cut Things Fall Apart comes closest to realizing their vision as a group. It doesn't hurt that it boasts the Erykah Badu collabo, "You Got Me," which did for The Roots what "Killing Me Softly" did for The Fugees. However, we get far more than just one solid crossover hit here. For one, Things Fall Apart is a marvel of sequencing, a skill that not enough rappers learn to master. The record jumps straight out the box by beginning with the old school, jazzy breakbeat science of "Table of Contents, Parts 1 & 2," "The Next Movement" continues the slightly organic feel, mid-tempo flows of Illadelph Halflife, and that vibe continues onto "The Spark," where Dice Raw gets his. Then once you touch "Dynamite," a slinky jazz guitar beauty, the album starts to build its momentum. They hit s*%t off lovely on the very next song, "Without a Doubt," nodding to Schooly D's Philly classic "Saturday Night" long before the Young Gunnaz did. "Ain't Sayin' Nothin' New" throws down more sultry soulfulness only to be followed by the Mos Def/Black Thought pairing of "Double Trouble," rocking the kalimbas for real. This run hits its apogee with Common collab "Act Too (Love of My Life)," arguably one of the most beautifullest odes to hip-hop ever. Super-duper mellow, especially compared to the 300 watt heat that preceded it, but "Act Too" offers the perfect cool-down hiatus that you need to refresh. There's still another half dozen or so songs that follow, including "You Got Me," "Adrenaline," and "Don't See Us," but that middle run is the heart of the album and what makes Things Fall Apart such a masterful example of music-making. If you only ever buy one Roots album what you waiting for?

  • 180g black double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ printed insert
  • original release year: 1999
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 2014
reviewed by O-Dub 01/2006
UPC: 600753423257


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed