Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Undun Vinyl LP

Def Jam RecordingsSKU hh-5005

acclaimed 2011 concept album featuring Sujfan Stevens, Big K.R.I.T., Bilal
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The 10th studio album from the legendary Roots crew. Meet Redford Stephens, a fictional character who meets a tragic end to his life in the opening seconds of Undun. Black Thought and guests tell a poignant story of the circumstances and choices that lead to his demise over neo soul, funk, & indie-influenced production (handled mostly by QuestLove), and the record ends with a gorgeous 4-part suite, which starts with Sufjan Stevens's "Redford (For Yia-Yia & Pappou)." The central theme is heavy & troubled, and the instrumentals, layered with lush piano & other live-band elements, are perfectly tailored to capturing the mood. What's refreshing is how the narrative avoids popular rap music tropes; Stephens is in the drug game, but rather than glamorizing the lifestyle, Undun unravels a tale of a man (" based on a combination of maybe four to five people that we know in Philadelphia.") that meets an untimely death after going through an existential crisis. Tracks to check out: "Sleep," "Make My," "The OtherSide," and "Tip the Scale." Big K.R.I.T., Dice Raw, Phonte, Greg Porn, and Bilal make guest appearances.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ printed insert
  • music label: Def Jam Recordings 2011 / 2018
reviewed by pocari papi 12/18
UPC: 602567889281


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed