Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Salt Of The Earth (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Real Gone MusicSKU fr-4867

Ashley's Roachclip! 1974 DC funk/soul reissued
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

2nd album from Washington DC area funk group The Soul Searchers. The main attraction here is "Ashley's Roachclip" which features one of the smoothest breaks as featured in Coldcut's remix of "I Know You Got Soul." But damn PM Dawn, I always think of their "ah. ah. Ah. Ahhh" shit. Beyond the recognizable break, the whole song (and album) is dope too. Limited coke bottle clear color reissue.

"Even if you’ve never heard this 1974 album, you’ve heard it. What do we mean? Well, the drum break from the song 'Ashley’s Roachclip' is probably the single most sampled track in all of hip hop. Everybody, and we mean EVERYBODY, has used it—Run-D.M.C., Eric B. & Rakim, and LL Cool J to name a few (and Public Enemy sampled 'Blow Your Whistle' for good measure). And when you throw in the fact that the D.C.-based Soul Searchers were led by the soon-to-be 'Godfather of Go-Go' himself, Chuck Brown, you can understand why Salt of the Earth—which originally came out on the lightly distributed Sussex label—ranks among the most collectible R&B albums of all time." - Real Gone Music

  • coke bottle clear clear colored vinyl
  • first time on vinyl in 15+ years, first US vinyl reissue
  • original release year: 1974
  • music label: Real Gone Music 2023
reviewed by the mgmnt 07/2006
UPC: 848064014775


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed