Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Genius Of Modern Music Vol.2 (Mono) Vinyl 10"

Blue NoteSKU fr-3233

essential collection of performances from the legendary pianist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

More indispensable recordings from the indelible Thelonious Monk. Genius Of Modern Music Volume Two continues Blue Note's focus on sessions where Monk was coming into his own as a leader. The collection is a mix of standards and original compositions from the pianist. From the opening of Monk's obtuse take on the 1920s standard "Carolina Moon" you get a good taste of what you're in for. The highlight for many will be the classic rendition of "Straight No Chaser," however there is much more to dig into. Especially intriguing is an upbeat cover of Gershwin's "Nice Work (If You Can Get It)." Musicians from the sessions include, young trumpeter Kenny Dorham and bassist Al McKibbon, Art Blakey and (replacing Blakey on half of the program) Max Roach, along with saxophonist Sahib Shihab. 10" pressing with remastered mono sound.

  • 10" pressing
  • remastered mono sound
  • music label: Blue Note 1952 / 2014
reviewed by Cool Hand 03/2015
    UPC: 22605572


    Review & Q+A

    Labheads Also Viewed