Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Sketches / Somethin Vinyl 4LP

Sound SignatureSKU dm-5605

raw, eclectic dance vibes from Detroit's finest
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $84.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 849 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

It's records like these that remind you why Theo Parrish is so highly respectedOriginally released in 2010 as a ridiculously limited 12" pack (150 copies to be exact), Sketches captures Theo at his most raw, loose and accessible. True to the nature of a sketch, it almost seems like Theo was just wildin' in the studio, letting the ideas flow freely without mind for traditional dance music constraints. It is jazz, funk, dance, hip-hop - or all at the same time. The Motor City's rich musical history can be felt running deep in these grooves. Parrish taps into it all over three 12" volumes of Sketches with a bonus Somethin 12" added to the bundle. Every single track on here bumps - from the jump off "Kites On Pluto," to the cooled out "Flip The Funk Out," the heavy beatdown of "Black Mist," the off-kilter funk of "Thumpasaurus," and everything in between. Limited edition 2016 repress with custom hand stenciled sleeves (each set is unique), not to be missed. Recommended. 

  • limited edition 4x12" pack
  • reissue of the sought after 2010 release w/ bonus 12"
  • custom hand stenciled sleeves (each set is unique)
  • music label: Sound Signature 2016
reviewed by Dr. Rhythm 10/2016
UPC: 84823880


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed