Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Apocalypse - 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

BrainfeederSKU fr-5036

'memento mori' edition w/ bonus tracks + deluxe holograph packaging
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $38.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 389 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Thundercat releases a very special deluxe edition of his album Apocalypse celebrating ten years since its original release in 2013. The new edition features special rainbow holographic artwork housed inside a transparent PVC outer sleeve with holographic skull print. Additionally there are two previously unreleased tracks: ‘Before I loved myself I pooped my ankles (true)’ (with Austin Peralta and Taylor Graves) and ‘Paris’ (with Mono/Poly)." - Brainfeeder

Sophomore full length from Thundercat on Brainfeeder. Apocalypse follows 2011's Golden Age Of Apocalypse and finds bassist/songwriter Stephen Bruner (aka Thundercat) blurring genre lines between jazz, funk, pop, and rock, while further exploring his own vocal capabilities as a singer. His undeniable bass skills (he's played bass for everyone from Fly Lo, Erykah Badu, Snoop, RHCP, Suicidal Tendencies, etc.) are still the foundation on most of the tracks, but now his own vocals are in the spotlight - a somewhat surprising move considering the last album was more instrumental, but Thundercat pulls it off with style to spare. Check the sounds on the deep opener "Tenfold," the addictive vox on "Heartbreaks + Setbacks," and "Special Stage," the heavy beat bounce on "Tron Song," and the anthemic funk on "Oh Shiet it's X." Definitely an impressive piece of work, worthy of repeat listens. Recommended.

  • 10th anniversary edition w/ (2) bonus tracks + deluxe packaging
  • red colored vinyl
  • housed in deluxe reflective jacket w/ transparent holograph PVC outer slipcase
  • printed inner sleeve
  • digital download included
  • original release year: 2013
  • music label: Brainfeeder 2024
reviewed by TKB 07/2013
UPC: 5054429177404


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed