Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Happy Sad (180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU lp-12390

experimental 1969 recording from cult folk singer
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$30.95 Original Price$37.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Even though it was Tim Buckley's most popular release, Happy Sad is a divisive chapter in the folk-rocker’s short career. Unlike the previous two records, Buckley began interweaving jazz in with psychedelic folk to create his own signature style, which would later delve further into funk and R&B territory. The first track on the album, “Strange Feelin’” is a direct interpolation of Miles Davis’ “All Blue” off Kind of Blue and the heavy use of vibraphone and marimba in the instrumentation hints at influence from Cal Tjader, who released his notable album Solar Heat during the recording of Happy Sad. Side B opener “Dream Letter," is an ode to his estranged son, Jeff Buckley, who would later go on to record the famous cover of Leonard Cohen's “Hallelujah.” 6 tracks on 180g gold colored vinyl, individually numbered edition of 1000.

  • 180g gold colored vinyl
  • individually stamped + numbered
  • limited edition of 1000
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 2021
reviewed by SHH! 09/2021
UPC: 8719262019362


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed