Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Small Change (180g, Clear Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Anti-SKU lp-11031

jazz, booze, & lyrics, newly remastered
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Tom Waits is a brilliant lyricist, owning a writing style that draws from poets likes Raymond Chandler & Charles Bukowski. On Small Change, the Bones Howe-produced 1976 LP from Waits (his third studio album), the words flow like poetry and he delivers every syllable through the one-of-a-kind vessel that is his strangled, unshaven voice — big ups all the cigarettes he must have smoked and all the whiskey he must have consumed. "Tom Traubert's Blue (Four Sheets To The wind In Copenhagen)" is a stunning opener, and the calming string section starkly contrasts the coarse textures of Waits's vocals. Other standouts include "The Piano Has Been Drinking (Not Me) (An Evening With Pete King)," and "Step Right Up," as Waits sings and/or delivers spoken word pieces against heavily jazz-influenced instrumentals. 2018 clear vinyl pressing featuring remastered sound. Limited to 1,000 copies.

  • 180 gram clear colored vinyl pressing
  • newly remastered sound
  • printed insert
  • limited edition of 1000
  • music label: Anti- 2018
reviewed by rei kwondo 05/2018
UPC: 45778756889


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed