Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Open Soul (Japan Import) Vinyl LP

P-VineSKU fr-4621

Chicago soul-funk holy grail
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 499 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Everybody, everybody, wanna know… What is soul?" Tomorrow's People consisted of 4 brothers (Kevin, Maurice, Gerald, and Timothy Burton) from South Chicago, and the soul-funk group released Open Soul through Stage Productions in 1976. The record has since become a holy grail for collectors, and Japanese reissue powerhouse P-Vine has brought back the 5-tracker (feel free to check prices on vinyl marketplaces for og copies) with the original cover for the first time ever. Much of the conversation concerning the LP starts around the epic 20-minute title track, which apparently was not a written piece and/or rehearsed(!!!). It begins with cosmic-soul vibes created by warm keys and guitar riffs, then around the 2-minute mark, the funk explodes with percussion, simple-yet-effective bass work, and the catchy chanting that gets at the burning question: "What is soul?" The answer lies in tunes like "Lovers To Friends," "It Ain't Fair," and "Hurry On Up Tomorrow," but also, don't sleep on the funk-disco bump of "Let's Get Down With The Beat." Recommended.

  • 1976 funk / soul holy grail reissued w/ original cover for the first time ever
  • black vinyl pressing
  • high-quality Japanese import w/ obi strip
  • limited edition
  • music label: P-Vine 2021
reviewed by enak light 04/2017
UPC: 4995879071410


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed