Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Open Soul Vinyl LP

Melodies International Ltd.SKU fr-3625

Chicago soul-funk holy grail
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Everybody, everybody, wanna know… What is soul?" Back for the first time in 40 years! Tomorrow's People consisted of 4 brothers (Kevin, Maurice, Gerald, and Timothy Burton) from South Chicago, and the soul-funk group released Open Soul through Stage Productions in 1976. The record has since become a holy grail for collectors, and Melodies International Ltd., a reissue label helmed by Sam Shepherd aka Floating Points, has brought back the 5-tracker (feel free to check prices on vinyl marketplaces for og copies). Much of the conversation concerning the LP starts around the epic 20-minute title track, which apparently was not a written piece and/or rehearsed(!!!). It begins with cosmic-soul vibes created by warm keys and guitar riffs, then around the 2-minute mark, the funk explodes with percussion, simple-yet-effective bass work, and the catchy chanting that gets at the burning question: "What is soul?" The answer lies in tunes like "Lovers To Friends," "It Ain't Fair," and "Hurry On Up Tomorrow," but also, don't sleep on the funk-disco bump of "Let's Get Down With The Beat." Remastered from meticulously sourced copies of the original pressing (the masters / tapes were destroyed some time ago), includes Tomorrow's People goodies and an interview w/ one of the Burton brothers. Recommended.

  • includes interview with a Burton brother
  • music label: Melodies International Ltd. 1976 / 2017
reviewed by enak light 04/2017
UPC: 90643144


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed