Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Hometown - Detroit Sessions 1990-2014 Vinyl LP

StrutSKU fr-4213

later recordings from acclaimed Detroit jazz collective
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$21.95 Original Price$30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Forming as an ensemble in 1971 by saxophonist Wendell Harrison and trombonist Phil Ranelin, Tribe is a respected independent jazz collective from Detroit. A live entity as well as, later, an independent record label, it's ethos was clear from the beginning, "sustaining the future of the jazz diaspora, the jazz tradition." Tribe's early releases, such as Harrison's An Evening With The Devil (1971) and Harrison and Ranelin's A Message From The Tribe (1972) became early '70s milestones in Motor City jazz, and here's a compilation that focuses on the later-era works. Previously unreleased recordings from Harold McKinney and his "McKinfolk" family of musicians ("Wide And Blue" & "Juba) as well as poet Mbiyu Chui (Williams Moore), pianist Pamela Wise and percussionist Djallo Djakate ("Ode To Black Mothers" & "Marcus Garvey") are selected. In addition, Ranelin re-works his classic "He The One We All Knew," and Harrison "evokes the power and majesty of juju" on "Conjure Man." Remastered from original session recordings, includes exclusive sleeve notes by journalist Herb Boyd and rare photos from Harrison's personal archive.

  • remastered from original recordings
  • sleeve notes by Herb Boyd
  • rare photos from Wendell Harrison's personal archive
  • music label: Strut 2019
reviewed by singing in japanese 01/2020
UPC: 4062548002157


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed